How To Become A Vegetarian

Are you wondering what do vegetarians eat? Or if they need vegetarian supplements? Well, it depends on your specific diet. There are many different types of vegetarian diets.

A Note On Vegetarian Supplements

I have been a vegetarian for 22 years and have never taken protein supplements or any vegetarian supplements.

I eat well, according to the guidelines here and I'm happy to say that I do not have any vitamin or mineral deficiencies.

However, everyone is different. Vegetarian or not, some people are more prone to iron or B12 deficiencies so do ask your doctor for a blood test if you have any concerns.

Vegan Vs Vegetarian: Some Definitions


By definition, a vegetarian is someone who does not eat meat, poultry or fish. More precisely, this describes the diet of a lacto-ovo vegetarian, the most common type of vegetarian – but there are many different types of vegetarians, principally lacto vegetarians and vegans. Take a look at this article on vegan vs vegetarian for more detailed definitions of what each type of vegetarian eats.    

For health, if you are going to become vegetarian, it’s important to know what you should eat to ensure that you are achieving a balanced vegetarian diet.  With a little understanding of vegetarian nutrition, you can ensure you are enjoying all the significant health benefits of being a vegetarian.  

Of course, many vegetarians choose not to eat meat for health or ethical reasons, but there is another significant deterrent to eating meat - the environmental cost. Look at growingraw.com if you'd like to read more about the positive environmental impact of vegetarianism.

Vegetarian Protein Sources


The good news is that a healthy vegetarian diet is easy to achieve, a lot easier than many people imagine.

I have found that the biggest nutritional concern people have when becoming vegetarian is whether they will get enough protein in a vegetarian diet. In fact there are many excellent sources of protein for vegetarians. These include nuts, seeds, beans, lentils, grains, vegetarian cheese, eggs and soy products like tofu. Don’t worry! I have lots of additional information on vegetarian protein sources if this is something you want to know more about.


Sources Of Iron


Something else people tend to wonder about when asking what do vegetarians eat is how to find good vegetarian iron sources.

In fact, it is not difficult to ensure you are getting enough iron. Leafy green vegetables, lentils, pulses, dried fruit, eggs and wholegrain bread are all excellent vegetarian sources of iron.

Just remember, vitamin C really helps the body to absorb iron too so make sure you include plenty in your diet in the form of green vegetables, peppers and fruit like strawberries, kiwis and oranges.  If you want to know a little bit more about getting enough iron, take a look at my guide to vegetarian sources of iron.


Vegetarian Vitamin B12


One other area that tends to prompt questions is Vitamin B12. This need not be a problem. It's easy to get! Please read my guide to vegetarian vitamin b12 for more information.

And if after all that, you are still wondering what do vegetarians eat, check out the recipes or get in touch. I would love to hear from you.

If you are a new vegetarian, it's a good idea to get in touch with a vegetarian society in your area.

The European Vegetarian Union (EVU)
is the umbrella organization for vegetarian organizations in Europe.


> What Do Vegetarian's Eat?

 

New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below.





 
[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines